Everyone loves Pixee Stix

by

I have to admit, I wasn’t too tempted by the new Pink Paislee Pixie Stix when I first saw them. I don’t consider myself a glitter person. But when I was asked to try them out, I did a complete 180 and now I’m using the glitter on everything I can think of! I thought I’d show you one of the projects I’ve been working on lately. While searching the web for handmade paper ornaments, I found this really cute bird pattern on Kate’s Paperie.

I downloaded the file and printed it off. I then trimmed each piece and with my non-permanent adhesive attached the patterns to some cardstock. I cut out around each pattern. There are slits you need to cut for attaching the pieces together, the only one that I didn’t think worked  well was the tail slit, I just cut my own at the bottom of the “v” of the tail.

dsc03438

dsc03441

Next I used a liquid adhesive and applied an even layer of glue over the surface, shook the glitter over the glue, tapped the glitter off, and moved onto the other side, or the next piece. The coverage is what sold me on this glitter, it looks like velvet! There’s lots of glitter in that little tube, and if you make a funnel out of printer paper, it’s really easy to pour the extra glitter back into the tube.

dsc03442

Once every piece you want covered is glittered, you’ll want to spray them lightly with Super Seal. This is an amazing product that HAPPILY Mary Kay has in stock. It seals the glitter to the paper so you don’t have to worry about a trail of glitter everywhere the birds might roost! It also seals other projects, like newspaper clippings you want to add to your scrapbooks. It doesn’t change the color of what you are spraying, it just adds a clear protective coating. You’ll have to ask about it at the store.

dsc03437

You can then attach the pieces of the bird together, it’s that easy! I added a Kaiserkraft gem for an eye. You can either hang them from a ribbon or just sit them in your arrangement. I’m working on an entire garland of them, they are that cute. I think it would be fun to use some patterned papers in the same way, maybe adding a border of glitter to tie them all together.

So go get yourself some Pixee Stix, they come in almost every color you can think of (15 to be exact, I used Green Apple) and I think you’ll find yourself in the same situation as I did, you’ll need more! 🙂

–Emily

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Everyone loves Pixee Stix”

  1. Disney Scrapbook Says:

    That is COOL! 😛

  2. Terry Wise Says:

    Enjoyed making my “Mardi Gras” bird on Saturday.

  3. lisa Says:

    so that is a fabulous idea…i just saw these pixie sticks a week ago at oh scrap in newport beach, ca! really tempting,…i am all about the glitter! great colors too!

Leave a Reply

