Name banner

by

Today we are going to make a name banner. It’s the perfect decoration for a teenage girl’s room or locker! Just in time for back to school.

You will need…

  • Chipboard letter squares spelling out your name available at your favorite scrapbook store- Scrapbook Destination!
  • Patterned paper of your choice
  • Roger’s Dabber paint(s) in colors that coordinate with your paper
  • Crop-a-dile
  • Jump rings
  • Ribbon
  • adhesive
  • File… I used my Basic Grey file kit

Start by punching out the positive letters from the chipboard squares. Using your files make sure all the inside edges of your letters are clean on the square piece that are left. This includes any inside pieces such as on an a or e. After they are filed clean, use your paint dabber to paint over the entire front of the chipboard. After I made sure enough color was on the chipboard, I started at the top of the letter and pulled down with the dabber to make a clean lined look to my paint. Set aside and let dry for several hours.

When pieces are dry, cut 3 x 3 squares of your patterned paper and round the corners with your corner rounder. Use adhesive to attach the paper to the back of your painted chipboard square. Use your file again to file upwards on the outside edges of your squares blending the paper and the chipboard together and easing off any extra paper that is over the edge.

I used a second color of dabber to add a distressed edge to mine. The green was a little loud and I wanted to soften the look. This is when you would add that distressed edge.

Decide if you would like your name to hang vertically, such as in a locker, or horizontally on a wall. Measure out equal distance either on the top of your squares for vertical hangings, or on the sides for horizontal hangings. I used one inch to seperate my holes. The smaller hole for the crop-a-dile works well if you are planning to hook your squares together using jump rings. The larger hole works well for ribbon.

I punched two hole on each side of my squares, except my outside two squares. I punched one large hole in the upper left corner of the first letter and the upper right corner of my last letter. I attached all my letter together with jump rings. Then I attached ribbon tied into the larger upper corners, knots to the front, in order to hang horizontally. When hanging vertically, punch two holes in the top corners of the first letter. The last letter should only have holes at the top to attach it to the upper letter.

Feel free to embellish further with buttons or flowers to add your own distinct look.

Hang it and enjoy!

Tara

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

