Technique Friday!

by

I found this really cool technique out of an old issue of Paper Crafts Mag. It makes a plain shape look like crackled glass. Yes I know they make crackle accents but I think this looks better and you can control where the cracks go.  It doesn’t take very many supplies and its very easy. The only bummer to it is you have to be patient and wait for it to dry. But it is worth the wait! I also have to apologize for no photos. I left my camera at my parents house over the weekend. So once its back in my hands I will take and post photos.

Supplies needed: 

Patterned paper {Basic Grey background papers work great!! I love the distressed look of it.}

Any Large shape or letter {You will cut out your shape from the patterned paper. I used a star.}

Glossy Accents or Dimensional Glaze of some kind

Glitter or small micro beads 

Your Freezer

 

Instructions:

  1. Start by cutting out your shape or shapes. This is a great project to do a lot of at once and save them for a later date. After cutting, apply the glossy accents to you shape. Make sure that the glaze is applied pretty thick and even.
  2. Gently sprinkle glitter or micro beads to the edges of your shape.  
  3. Let the Glossy Accents dry for at least 4-5 hours. The longer the better.
  4. Once it is dry place in your freezer for about 5 mins. 
  5. Slowly bend and crack. 
  6. Place finished shape to your project! 

 
 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

