Step It Up for a layout

by

I had so much fun last time doing a “Step It Up” card, I thought I’d do it again with a layout. So here’s the original layout, it’s about how cucumbers make my tummy happy, journaling would be on the yellow strips on the right side:

With the black Cosmo Cricket chipboard, I decided the layout need more black accents, so I took it all apart and started adding black. First I sewed around the green Scenic Route Grafton paper. I ran around it probably 10 times, it took about 5 minutes:

I then stitched down all the strips and added the title, changing the orientation of the word tummy:

Finally I matted the photo on a piece of black to tie everything together.

But… I wasn’t thrilled with the title still, so i changed it to black letters and added a word:

Adding the stitching took 15-20 more minutes, but i think it really adds a nice touch. So there you have it. Don’t forget about the Garage Sale this weekend, it’s going to fun!

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Step It Up for a layout”

  1. Rox Says:

    Hey Emily,

    Nice job on the layout. I love the black elements you added. They make the whole layout pop! The picture is great too! I love how it has the cucumber in full focus with you in the background.

    Maybe you should try a couple of slices on your eyes, so that your eyes will be as happy as your tummy when you take your nap! :o)

    Rox

  2. Anisa Says:

    Thanks for this post. I’m always wanting to sew on my layouts (one about a quilt I made, in particular), but I’ve been afraid to try it! You’ve just inspired me to JUST DO IT!! Thanks!!!

  3. Denise W. Says:

    I have a question about the way you stitched those circles. Did you drop the feed dogs and do it free motion or just keep lifting the presser foot and repositioning to follow the circle?

    It is really cute and I like seeing the changes you made and the reasoning behind them.

Leave a Reply

